top of page
Search

Get to know Rachel!

Author Interview

Genre that you rarely read (but wish that you could/did): I wish I read more science fiction… I enjoy it (I absolutely love Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy), I just don’t read it as often as I’d like.

Do you have a favorite reading snack? I’d have to say my favorite reading snack is ginger (or one of my favorite Japanese snacks, like pocky)… but I almost always have a cup of either tea or coffee with me, too.



We all have a million book boyfriends, but who is your favorite book villain?

I would have to say Hannibal Lecter from books such as The Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon by Thomas Harris.

What distracts you easily when you’re reading? What happens to me, especially when reading a good book, is that I end up thinking up a good idea for a story I’m writing… inspired by whatever it is I’m reading. So then I end up putting the book down, going back to my current work in progress, and then it takes me hours to get back to the book. Of course, this doesn’t always happen. But when it does it’s completely distracting in the best way possible.

What is your favorite film adaptation of a book? I really love what they did with The Notebook. Actually, that’s one of the few adaptations where I prefer the movie over the book.

What is the most disappointing film adaptation of a book? Ella Enchanted… not that it was bad. They just changed so much of it that I couldn’t feel it the same way as the book.

What will cause you to DNF a book? If I’m not feeling the character and following along with their journey. If the characters are too shallow in a non-redeeming way. If it’s a romance where either of the characters have no depth… and there’s nothing below the surface. Insta-love bores me, too.

Do you keep your books organized? Share a Shelfie! Yes… and no. Behold the madness of my semi-organized, semi-mad cluster of books.



What is a book that you didn’t expect to like, but you did? Honestly, I always go in with an open mind with books. And if I really don’t think I’m going to like something, I probably won’t get around to reading it since I have so many books on my shelf (and e-shelf) to be read.

What is your Girl Power Story about? A help desk female who isn’t getting any respect because she’s a woman. And, yes, this unfortunately comes from years of frustrating, personal experience. I’m so excited to bring some of what I went through into a fictional story. Especially because the love interest is a man who doesn’t “get it”… until he starts to put himself in the woman’s shoes. I’m most excited for his arc.




~RACHEL


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page